Event Type Exhibition

april

04apr(apr 4)12:00 pm14(apr 14)6:00 pmParifam

Time

4 (Thursday) 12:00 pm - 14 (Sunday) 6:00 pm

Location

Vancouver Asian Canadian Theatre and Medusa Theatre

12apr6:00 pm8:00 pmBook Launch: Zehra Naqvi

Event Details

On Friday, April 12th at 6pm, join Massy Arts, Massy Books and Penguin Random House Canada for the launch of The Knot of My Tongue: Poems and Prose by Zehra Naqvi, joined by Rahat Kurd and Sarah Munawar.

For readers of Fatimah Asghar’s If They Come for Us, here is a searing, multidimensional debut about the search for language and self, which is life itself.

This project has been made possible by the Government of Canada. Ce projet a été rendu possible grâce au gouvernement du Canada.

Venue & Accessibility

The event will be hosted at the Massy Arts Gallery, at 23 East Pender Street in Chinatown, Vancouver. We are located in the former MING WO building, which is still the name on the facade of our building.

Registration is free and required for entrance. Register here: https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/the-knot-of-my-tongue-poems-and-prose-by-zehra-naqvi-with-guests-tickets-851113331887?aff=oddtdtcreator

Time

(Friday) 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Location

Massy Arts Society

23 East Pender Street

may

30may7:00 pm9:00 pmShirin Neshat - An Iranian Artist in Exile

Event Details

Shirin Neshat is the most celebrated Iranian artist in the diaspora. Her work contemplates the lives of Iranian women and the social and ideological restraints on their identities and bodies and explores themes of femininity, identity, displacement, and resistance. This talk will introduce Neshat’s practice within the context of Persian art examining the influences of this artistic tradition on her art and explore her impact on the works of contemporary Iranian artists in Iran and the diaspora.

Time

(Thursday) 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

en_CAEnglish
X